Home > Non-Traditional University Students > “My résume is not all lies! My name is correct!”

“My résume is not all lies! My name is correct!”

I was recently accepted into an internship program through the University of Oregon called Portland Senior Experience.  I am in the process of interviewing for possible internship positions.  While preparing my résumé, portfolio and references I began thinking about how many opportunities, during the employment process, people have to be dishonest about their school and work record and their accomplishments.

Personally, I have never considered lying or even bending the truth to a potential employer, but I have heard many stories of people who have and the truth is always found out somehow, especially with the internet and all of the different ways to find out information about people.  (See my previous post, “How did you know I like DnB music and Persian food?”)

I did an internet search for “how to lie on your résumé” and Google returned 210,000 pages.  It is a shame that this type of unethical behavior is encouraged.

A good company will check references and validate information about potential employees to make sure the information they’ve been provided is true and correct.

Ultimately, some morally bankrupt people who have nothing to lose will always be dishonest in an attempt to get ahead. Take the ethical route.  Be honest.  Work hard.  And you will be rewarded.

  1. katiestansberry
    February 1, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    I can’t believe how many resources there are for people looking to fudge their resumes. Stuff like that always comes back to bite you in the end.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

